Ohio State coach Urban Meyer, Buckeyes react to College Football Playoff snub

Dec 04, 2017, 00:55
Ohio State coach Urban Meyer, Buckeyes react to College Football Playoff snub

Ohio State won the title in 2014, the first season of the CFP. Georgia and Oklahoma will play in the Rose Bowl in the other semifinal.

In one of the biggest debates in the four years of the College Football Playoff, the selection committee on Sunday picked Alabama over Ohio State as the last team into the final four. Alabama's loss came against Auburn.

Meanwhile, Oklahoma (12-1) and Georgia (12-1) each moved up a bit to solidify their places in the playoff at No. 2 and 3, respectively, with sound victories in their respective Big 12 and Southeastern Conference championship games. They have the aforementioned Louisiana Lafayette and The Citadel next season as two of their non-conference games. Alabama (11-1) beat the Tigers for the 2015 national title, with Clemson turning the tables last season.

More news: 4.1 magnitude natural disaster rocks East Coast

Conference Championship Weekend turned into a quarterfinal for the rankings, as the ACC, Big Ten, Big 12 and SEC Championship Games had the chance to unofficially determine who will be in the top four.

Ohio State turned the ball over four times in the loss to the Hawkeyes.

The Sooners knocked off previous No. 11-TCU (10-3), 41-17, earlier Saturday, in Dallas, while the Bulldogs rallied from an early deficit to take revenge on previous-No.

More news: Ashes 2017/18: England's Jonny Bairstow allegedly 'headbutted' Cameron Bancroft in Perth bar

Saban also re-emphasized Alabama's season-opening win over what was then-No.

"Everybody kind of forgets about that game". SEC victor Georgia, who took down Auburn Saturday is in third of the final four.

The committee favored a quality record over quality wins this year, and that's going to hurt college football fans more than anything.

More news: Sony Among Many Corporations Looking to Acquire Fox Movie Assets