AP Chief Minister casts vote in presidential election

Jul 18, 2017, 00:23
AP Chief Minister casts vote in presidential election

Of these, 714 MPs and four MLAs voted here.

NDA's Ram Nath Kovind is likely to get over 65% votes.

The MPs who did not cast their vote were Trinamool Congress MP Tapas Pal, BJD's Rama Chandra Hansdah and Anbumani Ramadoss of PMK.

While MPs will mark their vote on a green-coloured ballot paper, pink-coloured ballot papers will be used for MLAs.

More news: PUBG First Person Only Servers Announced for Monthly Update

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP president Amit Shah who is also a legislator from Gujarat cast their vote.

NDA's candidate Ram Nath Kovind - former Bihar Governor - has an advantage over Meira Kumar - a former Lok Sabha Speaker - as the numbers are stacked in favour of the ruling NDA.

The term of President Pranab Mukherjee expires on July 24 and a new President has to take over by July 25.

The polling for election to the office of President of India started here today at 10 am under the supervision of Chief Electoral Officer, Jammu and Kashmir, Shaleen Kabra, and Election Observers from Election Commission of India.

More news: Worldpay & Vantiv Reach Agreement In Principle On Merger Terms

Mr Parrikar, yet to be elected to the Assembly after he resigned as the Defence Minister and returned to the state, cast his vote in his capacity as Rajya Sabha member from Lucknow. Mr Mishra said, overall polling per centage was almost 99 per cent.

In Telangana, 117 members of the 119-member Legislative Assembly have utilized their franchise today in the Presidential Poll held for the first time after its formation.

After Palaniswami, his cabinet colleagues including Forest Minister Dindigul C Srinivasan, and School Education Minister KA Sengottaiyan, rebel AIADMK leader O Panneerselvam, his loyalist and former Minister K Pandiarajan cast their votes. The value of each vote of an MP is 708 while that of an MLA in Karnataka is 131.

The electoral college for the presidential election consists of all elected members of both the lower and upper houses of the Parliament and state legislative assemblies. "This session gives the country an opportunity to elect the President and the Vice-President", he added.

More news: Feige Discusses 5 Film Arc for Tom Holland's Spider-Man

The three MPs of Tripura, two from Lok Sabha and one from Rajya Sabha cast their votes in the Parliament. Congress president Sonia Gandhi and her son Rahul also voted.